Romantics: The First Hippies of the World

Okay, so it’s been almost a month since I last wrote here. But only because 1) I didn’t have any interesting topic to talk about, and 2) this isn’t like other blogs where people just talk about random, stupid stuff. In my very first post I stated that this blog will be all about the books I read, my WIPs and other stiff related to writing and reading.

Today, I’ll talk about the Romantic period, its poets and how, according to me, they were the first Hippies of the world.

Let’s begin!

So today I was reading about the theme in Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s poem “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner”. The poem has a lot of supernatural stuff in it, like Death and Life-in-Death gambling over some mariners’ lives and the albatross and all that. Coleridge was famous for writing supernatural stuff. But my poetry teacher also told the class on first day, that the Romantics (the poets who participated in the Romantic movement) were all about nature and against monarchy.

Well, they showed their point of views in their poems but very, very sneakily. I mean, just after the French revolution, the British monarchs got scared to get their heads beheaded like that and get overthrown. So they just decreed lots of rules and most were totally tyrannical and absurd. Like not more than five people could gather around and talk.

So the Romantics, they expressed their point of views via their poems. But (there’s always a “but”) they hid those revolutionary stuff underneath flowers and petal and nature and foliage.

The monarchs were so dumb that they didn’t catch those comparisons and connotations. So the Romantics, they got away. Smooth! Right?

But that doesn’t mean they just used nature as camouflage to cover their point of views. They actually were lovers of nature.

Wordsworth, who led the movement, with his best friend, Coleridge, another Romantic and lake poet, was all about nature. During researching about his and Coleridge’s lives, I found out that they lived in the Lake District.

And when I saw pics of the place, I just went, “WOW!!!!!”

The place was amazing! The lakes and the meadows and the mountains and the trees. I mean I totally get why they spent almost their entire life there.

I also learnt that Wordsworth, with his sister, Dorothy Wordsworth and best friend, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, went on numerous walking tours across the place. And on these tours they found inspiration. Like Wordsworth’s “I Wandered Lonely As A Cloud” and “The Solitary Reaper” and Coleridge’s “The Rime of the Ancient Mariner”.

So the Romantics were (well, most of them, except for Byron and Blake) worshippers of nature. Wordsworth, Coleridge, Keats and Shelley; they all almost always used it.

But the beauty of nature wasn’t the only thing, other than revolutionary stuff, that was prominent in their poems. They also cared about nature. They hated industrialization and were against it. In fact, it was them who predicted how polluting and destroying nature would one day, come to bite us in the ass.

Just like the Hippies!

Everyone says that the Beatniks were the predecessors of the Hippies. Well I beg to differ. It was those Romantics. They were the very first Hippies of the world. Like the Hippies, they were against industrialization, urbanization, tyrannical rulers and fighting. I firmly believe that if the Romantics were born in the 20th century or better yet, in the ’60s or ’70s, they’d have been Hippies. Or at least supported their cause. They may have not liked the drugs and the free love thingy but they would’ve been all about “Flower Power” and “Make Love, Not War”.

My FMC (which means “Female main character”, in case you don’t know), Summer Winter, is a Hippie too. But she’s more like the Beatniks, the Hippies and the Romantics combined. She dressed like the Hippies, supported “Save the Nature” movement, but like the Beatniks, she was a literature nerd, talked sagely like them and like the Romantics, didn’t exactly support Free Love but would smoke pots. I mean, one of the characteristics of the 1970s was that almost all teenagers smoked pot.

I should draw a conclusion now. I’m writing like a maniac.

So take care, dear readers, and have a nice day!

2 thoughts on “Romantics: The First Hippies of the World

  1. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting
    article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my
    view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

