Writers and Their Characters: How The Two Groups Mirror Each Other

Since I started writing from 2013, I began to realize some things only writers can understand. One of those things was that writers often mirror themselves in their characters. I realized it right after reading famous YA writer, John Green’s debut novel, “Looking for Alaska”.

John Green, who majored in philosophy and religious studies in college, often have his characters and plots immersed in these two. In that novel, the MC, Miles, likes religious studies in his boarding school. And the main theme of the novel is heavily influenced by religion and philosophy.

Which I absolutely loved!

His second novel, An Abundance of Katherines (which I haven’t read yet and I could kick myself for it), is also philosophical and metaphorical. With a Muslim character and Islamic philosophy.

And this does not apply with John Green only. When I first read Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice”, I loved it. It was love at first read, almost! Then I read Jane Austen’s biography and watched the film “Becoming Jane”. They showed me how much her life was like Elizabeth Bennett.

Both had:
01) bickering, nagging, annoying mothers, sympathetic and understanding fathers,
02) were best friends with their sisters and loved reading books,
03) fell in love with someone they didn’t like from “first impression” (And believe it or not, this was “Pride and Prejudice” originally),
04) both rejected suitors they didn’t love,
05) both believed that love is the main requirement in marriage and
06) last but not least, both weren’t soft-spoken naïveté.

Then comes Charlotte Bronte and her immortal character, Jane Eyre. According to me, Jane was one of the strongest female characters from Victorian era novels, like Elizabeth Bennett and unlike Hester Prynne and Tess Durbeyfield. Both Charlotte Bronte and Jane Eyre wanted passionate, spiritual love, hated religious hypocrites and bigots, were firm feminists, hated social barriers and conventions for women set at that time.

Another writer and character that come to my mind are Daniel Defoe and his famously flawed character, Robinson Crusoe. Like Defoe, Robinson loved adventure. I don’t know if they both loved money or if they both were colonialist. But they both loved adventures and weren’t satisfied with calm, steady life then middle-class people led.

So as you can see, writers are almost always reflect themselves on their characters. Just like poets, they express themselves, their opinions and views and ideas and desires through their characters. Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte never found true love in their lives. So they gave it to their characters. Daniel Defoe couldn’t travel as much as he desired. So he gave that opportunity to Robinson Crusoe. Defoe struggled financially throughout his life so he gave Crusoe financial solvency in the latter part of his life.

So it’s been proven. Characters in a novel someway mirror and express their creators. Though not entirely and though not always, but most of the time, and in most of the cases.

For now, this is all. Au revoir!

10 thoughts on “Writers and Their Characters: How The Two Groups Mirror Each Other

  1. Helⅼo excellent blog! Does running a blog ѕimilar to this require
    a lot of աork? ӏ have vewry littl expertise in programming Һowever I ѡas
    hoping tⲟ start my oown blog ѕoon. AnyҺow, if you havе аny recommendations oor
    techniques fօr new blog owners please share. I understand this is off subject howevеr
    I simply neeɗed to ask. Thank you!

    Like

  2. You’re so awesome! I don’t think I can learn something like this
    before. So good to find somebody with some creative ideas on this subject.
    really thank you for bringing this up. this website is
    something that’s needed online, somebody with somewhat originality.

    excellent job for bringing something new to the web!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the wonderful blog. It was very beneficial for me.
    Keep sharing such ideas in the future as well. This was really what I was
    trying to find, and I am glad I got here!
    Thank you for sharing the such information here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

