My Nomination in the LIEBSTER Award

​Hey, guys! It’s been a long time, I mean looooooong time since I last posted anything here. But today I was nominated to. You might go, “What, nominated?” That’s right. I’ve been nominated by amazing Christina Fritts (who also run an awesome group on Facebook which is a writing workshop and we’re a really tight group!) for the LIEBSTER award. Here’s the link to her post.

How to be nominated:

1) Share 11 random but interesting facts about you.

2) Answer 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you.

3) Nominate at least 11 bloggers and write 11 questions for them.

I’m going through my Twitter lists to find 11 bloggers. Yikes, this isn’t looking very promising.

Anyway, let’s start!

11 Random Facts About Me:

1) I started writing seriously back in 2013, when I was going through a very upsetting phase of my life. I’d recently lost two of my uncles and my granddad in just three months in 2012 and for more than a year I couldn’t get over it. There was a lot on my mind that I wanted to scream out but I couldn’t. So I opened up my sister’s computer and wrote a story, almost a novella. It was trashy compared to how I write now but it saved me from a dark dark pit. I felt a lot better. So I began writing and before you know it, it became both my passion and my therapy.

2) Long before I became a writer, I used to try to write stuff. Once I wrote a spontaneous essay in English class in 8th grade and the teacher from that subject predicted that if I keep it up, someday I might become a writer. I didn’t take him seriously back then. Now I wish I did. He died of cancer the following year. He’s my most favorite teacher till date and I hope that someday, I’ll make him proud.

3) I also write poems and short stories but occasionally. One of my English professors from my university praised them *blushing*

4) I often suffer from writer’s block and I procrastinate a lot. I’m a lazy ass. But if you give me a deadline, I’ll literally murder myself to get it done.

5) I love love love reading spec fic, but it doesn’t love me back. For this reason, I can’t write in those genres. But I also love realistic fiction, but not those where nothing externally exciting happens and all the characters do are wallow and whine about their sorrows.

6) I’m a Coke gal. While my fellow writers gush about drinking coffee and/or tea, I can’t.

7) I’m not an avid reader but I’m a voracious, omnivorous one. Let me explain; I don’t read books a lot, mostly for my laziness and my inaccessibility to Amazon (the damn thing still isn’t available here, grrrr…). But when I get hooked into a book, I go the long way. I do not rest until I’ve devoured it. And I read almost all types of books (but not erotica, spiritual, nonfiction and religious).

8) I’ve never had a crush on anyone, unless you count celebrity crush, then just once, still intact, on Henry Cavill *swooning*. Weird, right?

9) I love the Beatles. Like love love them. I have a Pinterest board wholly about them and a lot of people have liked and saved them too. My favorite Beatles would be George.

10) My ultimate writing dream would be win the Pullitzer prize. Kidding! No, it’d be to have my favorite authors (John Green, Rainbow Rowell, J. K Rowling, Stephenie Meyer, Suzanne Collins, Jandy Nelson) to read my books and love them to the point of being their fans.

11) Things I hate no matter what: racism, islamophobia, sexism, cruelty towards animals, sweetness in my savory dishes, radishes, plagiarism.
Now, here are the questions from Christina and my answers to them:

01) Where is your favorite place to write?

Of course, my home. Home is where the heart is and my heart is all about writing. Was that tacky?

02) Who would play your MC if your MS got turned into a movie?

Honestly, I never would want my MS to be turned into movies or any other adaptations. Hollywood rarely does justice to the books. Only exceptions were Game of Thrones, Harry Potter and Pride and Prejudice (1995). Biggest examples would be Beautiful Creatures, Hunger Games, Mortal Instruments and Paper Town.

03) Is there a book you will always/happily reread?

Yes! Hands down, Hunger Games. Not Catching Fire or Mocking Jay but only Hunger Games. Seriously that first chapter? Undoubtedly every writer’s goal. I’ve read that chapter alone more than 20 times.

04) Is there a genre you’d love to write in, but feel you’re not ready/equipped for right now?

Yes! That’d be fantasy (all types) and dystopian. I loved reading Hunger Games, Harry Potter, Twilight, beautiful Creatures but I’m sadly not equipped for it. Maybe, hopefully in future.

05) What’s the worst part about writing for you?

That’d be editing stage. Wish we all could write perfect first draft and sell them as books.

06) What’d be your X-Men name and abilities?

Clairvoyant. Because I wanna see the past and the future. That’d be so useful for my writing.

07) Who is/are your favorite book character pairing(s)?

Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters. I may not have cried watching the movie, but not all tears are external. As for pairings that didn’t happen but I’d have wanted will be Lily Evans and Severus Snape, always.

08) Name one guilty pleasure TV show or book you watch/read.

That’d be Sex and the City. Though I’ve watched the most purified, filtered version Indian TV could show but still. I couldn’t tempt the jokes and girliness.

09) What’s your favorite source of writing inspiration/motivation? (Either a quote, or book, or person, or yoga position, whatever does it for you!)

A quote by Maya Angelou: “There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.”

And the story of Louis L.Amour who got 200 rejections but didn’t give up writing. Later he sold 330 million books, 1.65 million books for each rejection.

10) If you could co-write a book with any author, who’d be?

Jane Austen if she were alive. Since not, it’d be Rainbow Rowell.

11) What’s your biggest strength as a writer? (Seriously! Toot your own horn! Toot toot!)
Um, not sure if it’s true, but according to my Cps, I’m good at writing realistic dialogue. Maybe..*shrugs*

Okay now, here are my 11 questions for the 11 bloggers I may choose. Since I’m writer and I can almost always guess other writers’ likes and dislikes, I’m gonna ask non-writing related questions. They’ll be very quirky, I must caution you, 😉
01) If you could have lived in another decade, which would it have been?

02) What is your idea of greatest happiness?

03) If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?

04) How old would you like to be if you didn’t know how old you are? Why?

05) If happiness was the national currency, what kind of work would make you rich?

06) If the average human life span was 40 years, how would you live life differently?

07) If you could offer a newborn child only one piece of advice, what would it be?

08) If you knew everyone you know was going to die tomorrow, who would you visit today?

09) What would you like it to say on your tombstone?

10) Have you ever seen insanity where you later saw creativity?

11) Would you rather be a worried genius or a joyful simpleton?
Oh, wow! That was fun. I hope my questions weren’t too weird. Thank you, Christina, for nominating me. Maybe one day, when we’ll become famous and all, we’ll laugh at these.

Good day to y’al!

Leave a Reply

